August 19, 2014

Book Review: The Sin Brothers Series

ZanettiForgottenSins  zanetti_sweetrevenge_ebook1I FINALLY read the first two books in The Sin Brothers series. And I wasn’t disappointed. The 4th book in the series will be released in March 2015. Let’s dive in.


Forgotten SinsIn a Nutshell
Shane Dean is clearly a trained killer. A highly skilled soldier, able to carry out any mission put in front of him. He knows how to interrogate a man to get the exact information he needs from him. What he doesn’t know, is who he is.

Shane has no recollection of his brothers. Why he’s as skilled as he is. What kind of mission he is carrying out. And he certainly doesn’t remember the wife he walked out on, Josie.

Josie, is a CPA looking to advance her career at the accounting firm she works for and forget the heartbreak she’s endured since her husband left her, 2 years ago. She’s tried to move. She has a male friend. She even filed divorce papers.

When Shane and Joie are reunited, things don’t go quite as either of them would have thought they would. And then there are those dead bodies that may or may not have something to do with Shane…

Sweet RevengeIn a Nutshell
Matt Dean is on a mission. There’s a kill chip in his spine and his brother’s spines and he needs to find the doctor who implanted them, so she can take them out. Like all of his brothers, Matt is not only well versed in carrying out highly dangerous missions, but also those that require a more gentle and seductive touch. He’ll employ whatever tactics he needs to in order to save his family–his brothers are more important than anything, even love…

In walks bar owner Laney Jacobs. Or rather, Matt walks into the bar owned by Laney Jacobs. He knows that she’s not who she says she is, and could be hiding in plain sight as the very doctor he’s seeking. Laney is indeed hiding something, but it’s more than Matt has bargained for.

Laney, is seemingly kind-hearted. She feeds the homeless. Helps those less fortunate than her with school supplies. All while letting them maintain their dignity and without any sort of judgement. But is Laney too good to be true?

Tara’s Take
Last month, I reviewed Blind Faith by Rebecca Zanetti. LOVED it! It’s the 3rd book in The Sin Brothers series. Hence, I thought it prudent to go back and start at the beginning.

Forgotten Sins and Sweet Revenge are fun reads and provide more insight and background on the bothers Dean. In addition, Zanetti’s writing style clearly evolved by the time she wrote Blind Faith. These first two books in the series have a bit of repetition. While Shane Dean may have amnesia, the reader is repeatedly reminded of his condition. Similarly, in Sweet Revenge, we never forget that Matt is on a mission and his brothers mean more to him than anything. It was also made clear that Matt’s feelings for Laney were conflicted. So conflicted, that it was hard for the reader to determine how Matt felt.

That said, overall, the series is one to take notice of. The interaction between brothers is amusing. The heroines are strong women, who seem to constantly point guns at the brothers… There’s mystery and intrigue; and just the right amount of sexiness.

If you haven’t tried this series, give it a whirl–you’ll enjoy the ride.

Share this Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

subscribe to my newsletter:

We won’t ever sell or give away your info. (Not even for free books!)

View Privacy Policy »